eCall Certification

eCalleCall is an automatic emergency call system for motor vehicles postulated by the European Union. In-vehicle systems are designed to automatically report a traffic accident to the pan-European emergency number 112, and help to reduce the number of traffic jams and reduce the severity of road traffic injuries by means of more rapidly initiated rescue operations.


Since April 1, 2018 eCall is mandatory for all new models of passenger cars (M1) and light commercial vehicles (N1) and in order for motor vehicles to continue to be sold and registered in the EU, car manufacturers must now certify their deployed eCall systems on the basis of EU regulations. Decisive here are the eCall tests defined in the Regulation (EU) 2017/79:

  • Annex I – High-severity deceleration test
  • Annex II – Full-scale impact test assessment
  • Annex III – Crash resistance of audio equipment
  • Annex IV – Co-existence of TPS and eCall
  • Annex V – Automatic triggering (document review)
  • Annex VI – Positioning services (GNSS)
  • Annex VII – Info & warning signal (IVS self-test)
  • Annex VIII – Privacy and data protection


Since July 19, 2018 also the Regulation UN – R 144 came into force. The regulation defines the approval procedures for:

  • Components
  • eCall systems
  • Motor vehicles with eCall system, which has already been approved
  • Motor vehicles with eCall system, which has not yet been approved


Depending on the approval type, the test scope differs. In total, there are the following test areas:

  • Data sending and voice connection
  • EMC (UN – R 10)
  • Position determination (GNSS)
  • PLMN access
  • Information and warning signal (Self-test)
  • Power supply
  • Resistance to impact (Sled test)
  • AECS control
  • Hands-free audio performance (Audio)
  • Vehicle impact tests

The UN – R 144 is not only valid for the countries of the European Union, but applies to up to 56 countries worldwide. These include, among others, Russia, Japan and Korea.

In addition, Regulation (EU) 2015/758 defines that eCall certification testing should be carried out exclusively by a designated technical service.


Our services

We were designated as technical service for eCall in August 2017 by the German Federal Motor Transport Authority (KBA) and were the first laboratory in Europe to offer and carry out eCall testing and certification. Likewise, we were the first laboratory designated by the KBA as a technical service for the regulation UN–R 144.

In addition, we have been working to standardize eCall test specifications for a number of years, and have a wealth of practical experience gained through a variety of eCall approval projects.

With our extraordinary expertise in the eCall approval process and years of technical know-how to carry out the necessary tests for approval, we are your number 1 contact when it comes to eCall certification.


If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact us directly: https://www.cetecom.com/en/contact/.