eCall Certification

As an independent provider for test and certification services, CETECOM supports the automotive industry and is the ideal partner for the approval process. With its diverse service portfolio, CETECOM offers various testing and approval services. This also includes services for the Pan-europan eCall (accident emergency system).

eCall will become mandatory for all new models of passenger cars (M1) and light commercial vehicles (N1) starting from April 2018. CETECOM helps to achieve eCall certification:


  • Regulation EU 2017/79 – test procedures for the EC type-approval (Annex VI-VIII)

  • CEN EN 16454 / ETSI TS 103 412 – eCall end to end conformance testing

  • ETSI TS 103 428 – eCall HLAP Interoperability testing

  • ETSI TS 102 936-1, TS 151 010-1 and TS 134 123-1 – GSM/UMTS conformance

  • ITU-T P.1140 – Speech communication requirements for emergency calls


CETECOM is in the process of being accredited as technical service for eCall according to EU regulation 2015/758 with the scope defined in EU regulation 2017/79:

  • Annex I - High-severity deceleration test

  • Annex II - Full-scale impact test assessment

  • Annex III - Crash resistance of audio equipment

  • Annex IV - Co-existence of TPS and eCall

  • Annex V - Automatic triggering (document review)

  • Annex VI - GNSS

  • Annex VII - Info & warning signal (IVS self-test)

  • Annex VIII - Privacy and data protection